Welcome to the Computer Science and Information Technology Department (CSIT)

We offer many degree and certificate programs, course work, and preparation for transfer to a four-year program of study. Please take a few moments to look through our programs, course listings, and course descriptions. We hope you’ll find something that will stimulate your interest.

If we can be of any assistance or guidance in planning your course of study or helping you choose a class, please feel free to contact us using the guide below:

For Information About the Following Classes / Degrees and Certificates…

CSCI 114, 212, 222 | Data Science, Computer Science:
Contact Duy Nguyen at dnguyen@palomar.edu

CSCI 114, CSCI 130, CSCI 210 | Computer Science:
Contact Tony Smith at awsmith@palomar.edu

CSCI 112, CSIT 125 | CIS: Data Analytics, Data Science, Management Information Systems:
Contact Terri Canon at tcanon@palomar.edu

CSCI 112, CSIT 105, CSIT 180, CSIT 280 | Information Technology:
Contact Ron Burgher at rburgher@palomar.edu

CSIT 150, CSIT 175, CSWB 120, CSWB 150 | Information Technology, Web Development:
Contact Steve Perry at sperry@palomar.edu

CSIT 105, CSWB 110, CSNT 111, 120, 121, 122, 124, 160, 161, 180, 260, 261 | Computer Network Administration, Cybersecurity, Cloud Computing (AWS):
Contact Rand Green at rgreen@palomar.edu

CSNT 110, 150, 151, 152, 153, 181, 250, 255, 280 | Cybersecurity, Cloud Computing (AWS):
Contact David Meske at dmeske@palomar.edu

 

Watch the CSIT Department Introduction Video on YouTube


Announcements

newSTART A NEW CAREER AS AN AIRWAY TRANSPORTATION SYSTEMS SPECIALIST (ATSS) — PAID INTERNSHIP

Posted 2024/02/20

newFeb 15, 1pm: “Meet & Greet” to see our open lab and meet the professors

Posted 2024/01/26

Meet Jose “Pepe” Tapia! Student featured in the Amazon Web Services docuseries

Posted 2023/04/10

Programs, Courses, Job Opportunities, etc.

newClick on the SITE MENU link on the left side of the page

New Classes this Spring!

  • Advanced Python
    – Python programs to analyze real world big data problems in fields of machine learning, data science, ArcGIS, and cloud computing.
    • CSIT 275 – Advanced Python – Spring 2024, section 35397/98
      .
      NOTE:
      As an entry-level Python Developer, the starting salary is $92,500 annually, while senior-level Python Developer salaries go as high as $131,500 per year at an hourly rate of $63. Top earners take home a salary of $150,500 yearly, posting an increase by $500 compared to 2022.
  • AWS Academy Cloud Foundations
     – Understanding of cloud computing concepts, AWS core services, security, architecture, virtualization infrastructure concepts, pricing, and support.
    • CSNT 151 – AWS – Academy Cloud Architecting – Spring 2024, Section 35192/94, fast track 1
    • CSNT 152 – AWS – Academy Cloud Developing- Spring 2024, Section 35195/96, fast track 2
    • CSNT 153 – AWS – Academy Cloud Operations – Summer 2024, tbd
      .
      NOTE:   Click on AWS Salary Pay Scales to see the high salaries now offered to those with AWS knowledge.


Online Learning Resources

Canvas Information for Students

Discord Chat

For Chat areas related to various classes go to  Discord Chat