The Distance Education Committee

Meeting information

Meeting Time: 1st and 3rd Wednesdays at 2:30 p.m. – 4 p.m.

 Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 919 9930 3997 

Passcode: 974173 


This Senate committee will coordinate faculty interests in all areas of academic technology. This committee will advise the Senate on relevant technology matters:

1) discuss issues on technology related to student equity (access)

2) coordinate with faculty on technology governance committees

3) coordinate with curriculum committee on distance learning courses

4) discuss pedagogical issues relating to on-line courses and changes in technology

5) discuss issues of training for on-line instructors

6) advocate for faculty concerns regarding technology

7) discuss academic and professional issues related to courses taught in non-traditional formats such as percentages of faculty and department loads

Reporting Relationship: Faculty Senate

Chair: Erin Hiro (20-23) 


Faculty, PFF (20-22): Russell Backman   

Faculty, at large (20-22): Amy Caterina   

Faculty, at large (20-22): Open  

Faculty, AMBA (21-23) Open

Faculty, MSE (20-22): Wendy Gideon  

Faculty, Library (20-22): Linda Morrow   

Faculty, at large (20-22): Seth San Juan 

Faculty, CTE (20-22) Jacob Shiba  

Faculty, Part-Time (21-23): Tanessa Sanchez 

Faculty, L&L (21-23) Tina-Marie Parker  

Faculty, DRC (20-22): Alyssa Vafaei 

Faculty, SBS (19-21): Barbara Hammons 

Faculty, Student Services (20-22): Open