SAN MARCOS, CA (January 30, 2017) –— Participants in the recently concluded 2016 Palomar College fall season of sport produced 70 Pacific Coast Athletic Conference Scholar-Athlete honors. Qualification for the award includes active participation on an in-season team, successful completion of 12-or-more semester units and a 3.0 (B equivalent) grade-point average.

For the current year’s assessment, men’s and women’s basketball was eliminated from the fall-sport grouping to be evaluated in the spring, owing to the in-progress status of the now three-unit intercollegiate class. Also and for a first time, the fall semester totals include the Athletic Department’s co-ed cheerleading program, which although not recognized as a California Community College Athletic Association or PCAC-sanctioned activity, is institutionally administrated according to similar eligibility standards.

The honored students include 14 members of the Comet football team; 10 members of the men’s water polo team; eight men’s soccer players; seven members each of the women’s water polo team, wrestling team and cheerleading squad; five women’s soccer players; four members each of the men’s cross country and women’s volleyball teams; and two women’s golfers.

Six Comet athletes achieved perfect 4.0 (straight-A) grade point averages for the semester, including Grant Curry, Elijah Foli, Tim Sheehy and Paul Shaner of the men’s water polo team; Matt DeHaven of the men’s cross country team; and Dana Zapanta of the women’s golf team. No fewer than 24 additional fall-sport athletes achieved grade point averages of 3.5 or higher. Overall, of the 202 fall-sport participants, 139 (69%) passed 12-or-more semester units and achieved an aggregate grade-point average of 2.77.


Following is the complete list of 2016 Palomar College fall-sport scholar-athletes, grouped according to the individual sport programs.


Taylor Frank

Kelly Hale-kocinski

Emily Holland

Priscilla Morelos

Maryann Perea

Allison Staub

Christina Truong


Matthew DeHaven

Joshua Lyda

Edgar Romero

Mark Yabarra


Marlen Amador

Maya Guerrero


Lamont Chaney

Zachary Lofting

Roger Mann*

Joshua Pichette

Christian Prince*

Ethan Reber

Justin Sattelmaier

Harry Sio

James Taumaoe

Currie Thomason

Chandler Wachholz

Bryce Willette

Semaj Wren

Nicholas Zimmerman


Michelle DeLaCruz

Dana Zapanta*


Tyler Burdick

Joshua Clay

Kyle Gemmell

Ian Jaime

Marcus Lactawen

Stone McElderry*

Jiovani Molinero

Gilberto Vasquez


Grace Busby*

Cheyanne Edwards

Ardiana Gutierrez

Lindsay Pelchat

Brittney Rosillo


Ashley Aubele

Kayla Boatright*

Lisa Eldridge

Samanatha Radebaugh


Grant Curry

Tristin D’Ambrosi*

Elijah Foli

Aaron Oreb

Ryan Rhoads

Paul Schaner*

Tim Sheehy*

Abraham Turner*

Dylan Van Horn

Zach Wagonis


Rebekah Blackburn

Dallas Fatseas**

Jordann Heimback

Torrey Hirning

Kelly Rowan

Emma Thomas

Sydney Thomas


Cameron Cox

Miguel Flores

Seville Hayes

Sean McDannold

Trevor Torres

Bruce Valdez

Le Valdez


*Previous honors




Media contacts:
Melinda Finn, Public Affairs Office, 760-744-1150 ext. 2365
Laura Gropen, Director, Public Affairs Office, 760-744-1150 ext. 2152
Tom Saxe, Athletics, 760-744-1150, ext. 2989