Kartik Raju, a Technical Product Manager in the aerospace industry, will join the Palomar College Governing Board following Brian Olson’s resignation.

SAN MARCOS (September 23, 2021) — The Palomar Community College District (PCCD) Governing Board voted unanimously during a special meeting on Tuesday, September 21, 2021 to appoint Poway resident Kartik Raju as a Provisional Trustee, following the resignation of Brian Olson.

Raju’s appointment will be confirmed at a swearing-in ceremony at the regular meeting of the Governing Board on October 5, 2021.

“We are thrilled to welcome Mr. Raju to the Governing Board, and I look forward to working with him in the College’s continued pursuit of student success,” said President/Superintendent Dr. Star Rivera-Lacey. “Mr. Raju brings to Palomar an impressive resume of leadership, experience in a STEM-intensive field, a track record of fiscal responsibility, and a proven commitment to diversity and equity.”

Raju has worked in the aerospace industry for 17 years, and has a degree in Electrical Engineering.

“My family was really focused on education and lifelong learning,” said Raju following his appointment by the Governing Board. “Higher education is foundational to the well-being of our people, our community, and our whole country. It moves us forward.”

He added that he hopes to work with the PCCD Governing Board and administration to boost enrollment and ensure that the College provides a safe and inclusive environment for its students, faculty and staff.

“Everyone encounters challenges in life,” said Raju, “and if we can remove some of the roadblocks for our students—if we help them succeed—it will better our whole community.”

With his appointment, Raju assumed the Area 4 seat of former Board President Brian Olsen, who resigned effective September 10, 2021, for personal reasons. The Governing Board followed an open application process to choose Olsen’s replacement, who needed to reside in Area 4 and complete an application by 4:30 p.m. on Friday, September 17, 2021.

Area 4 of the PCCD is a large region that includes, but is not limited to: Descanso, Borrego Springs, Julian, Palomar Mountain, Pauma Valley, Hidden Meadows, San Diego Country Estates, Poway, Ramona, Ranchita, Santa Ysabel, San Pasqual, Valley Center, Warner Springs, Rancho Bernardo, Scripps Ranch, and the Native American Tribal Nations of: Pauma-Yuima, Pala, Los Coyotes, Rincon, La Jolla, San Pasqual, Mesa Grande, Inaja-Cosmit, and the Lipay Nation of Santa Ysabel.