SAN MARCOS, CA (January 26, 2016) –Based on recently posted semester grades, Palomar College’s 2015 fall-sport teams produced 70 Pacific Coast Athletic Conference (PCAC) Scholar-Athletes. Qualifications for the award include active participation on an in-season intercollegiate athletic team, successful completion of 12-or-more credit units and a 3.0 (B) grade-point average.

The total includes 18 members of the Comet football team; 10 members of the men’s water polo team; nine members of the women’s basketball team; eight members of the women’s soccer team; five members each of the women’s golf and men’s soccer teams; four members each of the wrestling and women’s water polo teams; three members each of the men’s basketball and women’s volleyball teams and a female cross country runner.

Ten Comet athletes achieved perfect 4.0 (straight-A) grade point averages for the semester, including: Aaron Ruth and Aaron Schroeder of the men’s soccer team; Samantha Swanson and Alexis Tietjen of the women’s soccer team; Kelly Iverson of the women’s volleyball team; Adam Kelsey, Paul Schaner and Tim Sheehy of the men’s water polo team; and Emilee Foltz and Lucy Gates of the women’s water polo team.

A total of 222 student athletes participated on Comet varsity athletic teams in the 2015 fall season of sport. Of those, 139 (63%) passed 12-or-more semester units and combined to post an aggregate grade-point average of 2.52. In addition to the program’s nine straight-A students, 18 others recorded grade point averages of 3.5 or better. Among the honorees, 19 sophomores earned academic all-conference distinction for a second time, while dual-sport participant Emilee Foltz (water polo/swim-dive) earned the honor a third time.

In addition to Palomar’s All-PCAC Scholar Athletes, the Comet Cheer Squad had five members meet the same academic standards, including Sara Engebretson, Emily Holland, Jennalin Partee, Domenique Sciuto and Rick Stevens.


By team, the 2015 Palomar College fall-sport All-Pacific Coast Conference Academic honorees follow:


Matthew Duniphan*

Holden Haskett

Deven Riley



Ashleigh Barnes*

Cheyenne Ertz

Adriana Hernandez

Alexandra Israel

Roshell Lamug

Tatiana Navarro*

Vanessa Perryman

Mikaela Shannon*

Regina Sheffield



Sarah Martinez*



Bryce Ackert

Kameron Calhoun

Coleman Cowling

Austin Early

Zachary Gallina

Wayne Ganan

Alex Gaylis

Preston Johnson

Charles Long*

Roger Mann

Matthew Mata’u*

Michael Moore

Austin Parades*

Christian Prince

Michael Stevens

Malavai Taylor

Malique Taylor

Robert Ursua



Brittany Bilek*

Mia Cassel

Madison Rumic

Jessica Safford

Dana Zapanta



Juan Garcia

Victor Gonzalez

Stone McElderry

Aaron Ruth

Aaron Schroeder



Grace Busby

Yulithsa Chamu-Rojas

Regina Deanda

Melina Heredia

Justine Miranda*

Jillian Skinner

Samantha Swanson

Alexis Tietjen*



Kayla Boatright

Kelly Iverson*

Savanna Sherbourne



Tristin D’Ambrosi

Neal Gorman*

Nicholas Hendricks*

Adam Kelsey*

Travis Lane

Cameron Rath*

Paul Schaner

Arnie Schmidt

Tim Sheehy

Abraham Turner



Morgan Brown

Dallas Fatseas

Emilee Foltz**

Lucy Gates*



Ernie Chambers

Erik Collin*

Inyeob Na

Jorge Rodriguez


*Previous honors



Media contacts:
Melinda Finn, Public Affairs Office, 760-744-1150 ext. 2365
Laura Gropen, Director, Public Affairs Office, 760-744-1150 ext. 2152
Tom Saxe, Athletics, 760-744-1150, ext. 2989