Memorandum

TO: Permanent Faculty

FROM:Sent on Behalf of the Sabbatical Leave CommitteeDATE:April 30, 2014

Subject: Determining Sabbatical Leave Eligibility

It has come to our attention that there may be a misunderstanding about how to count years of service for determining sabbatical leave eligibility. The following is an explanation that we hope will assist full-time faculty in determining when they would be eligible to apply for a sabbatical leave.

To be eligible for a sabbatical leave, a faculty member must be tenured and must have served the District for at least six (6) consecutive years <u>preceding</u> the year in which the sabbatical leave may be granted (District/PFF Agreement 9.12.2). In order to determine a span of 6 consecutive years of service from the date of hire, the practice has historically been to count 12 semesters and not six (6) full academic years.

Being eligible does not indicate obligation nor automatic approval of a sabbatical leave. The six years, or 12 semesters, are only used to determine if a faculty member meets the eligibility requirement.

The following two examples may be helpful.

Example #1

Hire Date: Fall 2014 Six consecutive years, or 12 semesters, of service:

Fall 2014	Spring 2015	Fall 2015	Spring 2016	Fall 2016	Spring 2017
Fall 2017	Spring 2018	Fall 2018	Spring 2019	Fall 2019	Spring 2020

First semester eligible to apply for sabbatical leave is Fall 2019 First semester eligible to be on a sabbatical leave is Fall 2020.

Example #2

Previous Sabbatical Leave Date: Fall 2009

Six consecutive years, or 12 semesters, of service following previous sabbatical leave:

Spring 2010	Fall 2010	Spring 2011	Fall 2011	Spring 2012	Fall 2012
Spring 2013	Fall 2013	Spring 2014	Fall 2014	Spring 2015	Fall 2015

Semester eligible to apply for a sabbatical leave is Fall 2014, Semester eligible to be on a sabbatical leave is Spring 2016.

We thought it was important to clarify how eligibility is calculated and hope this communication has done that. If you have any questions about this process, please feel free to contact Linda Morrow or Berta Cuaron, Cochairs of the Sabbatical Leave Committee. Thank you.