

Minutes of the MEETING OF THE FACULTY SENATE April 13, 2020

APPROVED

PRESENT: Richard Albistegui-Dubois, Jose Briceno, Melinda Carrillo, William Dalrymple, Alexandra Doyle Bauer,

Erin Hiro, Teresa Laughlin, Lawrence Lawson, Jackie Martin, Adam Meehan, Wendy Nelson, Patrick O'Brien, Lillian Payn, Julia Robinson, Chris Sinnott, Craig Thompson, Fari Towfiq, Rocco Versaci,

Anastasia Zavodny, Jon Walker (ASG)

ABSENT: Travis Ritt, Lori Waite

GUESTS: Lisa Cecere (Faculty), Kelly Falcone (Faculty)

Please note: All votes are presumed unanimous unless indicated otherwise.

<u>CALL TO ORDER</u>: The video conference meeting was called to order by Senate President Craig Thompson, at 2:34 pm.

PUBLIC COMMENT: None.

<u>ANNOUNCEMENTS:</u> Senate President Craig Thompson announced the revised Constitution passed 99 to 12 and is now available via a link posted to the webpage. Thompson thanked Wendy Nelson and Jenny Fererro for all their efforts in getting the constitution updated.

AGENDA CHANGES: None.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

<u>Motion 1</u> MSC: Towfiq/Laughlin Faculty Senate approval of minutes of April 6, 2020 as amended (Exhibit I). Abstentions: Chris Sinnott

The motion carried.

ACTION:

A. <u>Issuing "EW" Grade:</u>

Motion 2 MSC: Sinnott/Nelson Faculty Senate approval of the language that reads: "The Faculty Senate believes and endorses that students should be allowed to apply for a grade of 'EW' from May 2, 2020, through May 15, 2020, and further believes that Student Services should make the decision on whether the 'EW' should be granted."

Minimal discussion followed and it was determined that Motion 2 should be amended and split.

No vote was taken.

Motion 3 MSC: Versaci/Nelson Faculty Senate approval of splitting the language as stated in Motion 2.

The motion failed.

<u>Motion 4</u> MSC: Sinnott/Nelson Faculty Senate approval of language that reads, "The Faculty Senate believes and endorses that students should be allowed to apply for a grade of 'EW' from May 2, 2020, through May 15, 2020, and further believes that Student Services should make the decision on whether the 'EW' should be granted."

The motion failed.

<u>Motion 5</u> MSC: Laughlin/Sinnott Faculty Senate approval of the following language: "Given that the Chancellor's office recommends allowing students the granting of an automatic EW grade for the remainder of the Spring semester due to the existing statewide State of Emergency, and that student grades fall under the 10+1+1, the Faculty Senate recommends that students should be allowed to automatically receive a grade of EW through May 15, 2020."

The motion passed. I.A.1, I.B.1

- B. Committee Appointments/Elections: None.
- C. Curriculum: No report.
- D. Election of President-Elect:

<u>Motion 6</u> MSC: Laughlin/Sinnott Faculty Senate to accept nominations and to approve the voting result for President-Elect (Exhibit II).

Discussion began with Senator Teresa Laughlin nominating Senator Rocco Versaci who accepted the nomination. Senator Erin Hiro nominated Senator Wendy Nelson who accepted the nomination. Senators asked for clarification as to whom is eligible to be nominated based on a nominee's membership term/status on the Senate. Senate President Thompson ruled that any full-time "currently serving" senator is eligible to run for President-Elect and if the nominee's membership term expires before completing the two-year role, the nominee's Senate membership term will be automatically extended.

Senator Anastasia Zavodny appealed Thompson's ruling by stating that a Senator must have at least one year left on their Senate membership in order to be eligible to run for Senate President as outlined in the constitution Article IV, Section III Composition. The appeal was seconded by Senator Patrick O'Brien. A vote was taken and the appeal failed. Thompson was asked to place these constitutional issues on a future agenda so they can be addressed. Additional nominations included Senate Vice President Jackie Martin, nominated by Lawrence Lawson. Due to department chair duties in Business Education for 2020/21, Martin declined the nomination. Senator Chris Sinnott nominated Senator Anastasia Zavodny but it was determined Zavodny is not eligible to run due to restrictions against adjunct Senators placed in the recent revision of the constitution. Senator Zavodny nominated Senator Chris Sinnott who declined the nomination. Zavodny also nominated Senator Richard Albistegui-Dubois who declined the nomination.

<u>Motion 7</u> MSC: Laughlin/Lawson Faculty Senate approval to extend the meeting by five (5) minutes.

The motion carried.

A role call vote was conducted and results reported by Senator Alexandra Doyle Bauer. ASG representative Jon Walker abstained. The new President-Elect is Senator Rocco Versaci. I.A1, I.A.2

REPORTS:

- A. Senate President: Tabled.
- B. Planning Council Reports: Tabled.
- C. Palomar Faculty Federation: Tabled.
- D. ASG: Tabled.
- E. Guided Pathways: Tabled.
- F. Policies and Procedures: Tabled.
- G. Budget Committee: Tabled.
- H. Senate Committee Reports: Tabled.
- I. Other Reports: Tabled.

INFORMATION ITEMS:

- A. Committees via ZOOM: Tabled.
- B. ASG Concerns regarding online teaching: Tabled.
- C. Program Review: Tabled.

ADJOURNMENT:

The meeting was adjourned at 3:52 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Erin M Hiro

Erin Hiro, Secretary