

Minutes of the MEETING OF THE FACULTY SENATE September 30, 2019

APPROVED

PRESENT:

Richard Albistegui-Dubois, José Briceño, Melinda Carrillo, William Dalrymple,

Alexandra Doyle Bauer, Jenny Fererro, Erin Hiro, Teresa Laughlin, Lawrence Lawson, Jackie Martin, Adam Meehan, Wendy Nelson, Patrick O'Brien, Lillian Payn, Travis Ritt, Julia Robinson, Chris Sinnott,

Craig Thompson, Fari Towfiq, Rocco Versaci, Lori Waite, Anastasia Zavodny

ABSENT:

None

GUESTS:

Ana Acosta (Telescope), Remy Arnold (ASG), Mark Bealo (Faculty), Wing Cheung (Faculty), Lacey Craft (Faculty), Justin Enriquez (Telescope), Barbara Kelber (Faculty), Patriceann Mead (Faculty), Maureen Meadows (Staff), Steve Perry (Faculty), Linus Smith (ASG), Susan Snow (Faculty), Diane Studinka (Faculty), Jon Walker (ASG)

CALL TO ORDER: The meeting was called to order by Senate President Craig Thompson, at 2:30 p.m. in room LRC-116.

Please note: All votes are presumed unanimous unless indicated otherwise.

I. APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

<u>Motion 1</u> MSC Ritt/Zavodny: Faculty Senate approval of minutes of September 23, 2019 (Exhibit I), as amended.

The motion carried.

II. PUBLIC COMMENT: None

III. ANNOUNCEMENTS:

-Senator Chris Sinnott, from Performing Arts, invited everyone to the first theater performance of the year on Friday, October 4 at 7 PM in the Howard Brubeck Theatre. The Mental State is directed by Annie Hinton.

-Faculty Luis Guerrero announced that two MATCH events are planned for October. The first will be Wednesday, October 3, at 3 PM. A film titled X + Y will be shown in P32. On October 28, there will be a student and faculty showing in the Planetarium.

-Faculty Patriceann Mead announced that the annual Noche Havana event is set for October 18 at 7 PM at the Palomar Studio Theatre. A salsa class starts the evening activities with the Brazilian Drum and Dance Ensemble to follow. This annual event speaks to diversity here on campus.

IV. AGENDA CHANGES: None

V. ACTION:

A. Polling the Faculty: Level of Confidence in Superintendent/President's job performance

Motion 2 MSC Laughlin/Versaci: Faculty Senate approval to accept the language as amended for the Level of Confidence in Superintendent/President's job performance poll that will soon be underway (Exhibit II, Exhibit III).

Senator Teresa Laughlin began the discussion by presenting a draft of the polling document. Senators and guests in attendance offered edits to ensure that Faculty Senate was providing adequate instructions and that the polling language was accurate and precise. Senator Jenny Fererro, Chair for Elections Committee, took notes and ended the discussion by summarizing the changes. Senator Fererro will reproduce the document this evening and send the final version to the Senate Office for processing. Final discussion regarding the resolution language is set for our Faculty Senate meeting on October 28, 2019.

The motion carried.

Motion 3 MSC Fererro/Laughlin: Faculty Senate approval to draft a resolution upon completion of the poll.

Senator Fererro wanted clarity regarding instructions language for the ballot and language for the resolution as well. After a lengthy discussion, consensus determined that Fererro would use her own discretion, based on past polls/ballots, to determine the instructions for the ballot. It was also settled that the Faculty Senate members will draft the resolution language once the results of the poll are complete. Dr. Barbara Kelber closed the discussion by thanking Senators for their serious and considerate work. She said she appreciates the senate following the Faculty Constitution and taking action in a way that is collegial and professional.

The motion carried.

- B. Committee Appointments/Elections:
 - a. <u>Confirmations:</u> Senator Anastasia Zavodny prepared handouts that outlined the various committee confirmations.

<u>Motion 4</u> MSC Zavodny/Laughlin: Faculty Senate approval to confirm the uncontested committee nominees (Exhibit IV). They are as follows:

Behavioral Health & Campus Wellness Committee – Angelica Yanez (Faculty, Non-Instructional, 19-21)
Behavioral Health & Campus Wellness Committee – Loren Pope (Faculty, DRC, 19-21)
Curriculum Committee – Dennis Lutz (Faculty, CTE, 19-22)
Curriculum Committee – Christine (Tina) Barlolong (Faculty, Student Services, 18-21)
Student Program Eligibility Appeals Committee – Karmi Minor-Flores (Faculty, Financial Aid Counselor, 19-21)
Student Program Eligibility Appeals Committee – Angelica Yanez (Faculty, Counselor DRC, 18-20)

The motion carried.

b. Elections: Senator Zavodny prepared handouts that outlined the various committee elections.

Motion 5 MSC Zavodny/Laughlin: Faculty Senate approval to accept ballot results for the following committees (Exhibit IV, Exhibit V). The results are as follows:

Professional Procedures – Christine (Tina) Barlolong (Faculty, At Large, 18-20) Director of HR Hiring Committee – John Russell (Faculty)

The motion carried. (I.C.3,I.C.4,I.C.5)

Motion 6 MSC Ritt/Laughlin: Faculty Senate approval to extend the meeting an additional five (5) minutes.

The motion carried.

To close meeting, Zavodny provided an update on the VPHRS appointment. She reviewed the series of emails with HR and announced that HR finally conceded to allow a full-time, at-large faculty member to fill the Counseling position on the committee.

Motion 7 MSC Laughlin/Ritt: Faculty Senate approval to appoint Lawrence Lawson to the VPHRS Committee.

The motion carried.

- C. Curriculum: Tabled.
- D. DEC make-up: Tabled.

VI. INFORMATION ITEMS

- A. Committees: Tabled.
- B. Administrators in "Acting" Positions: Tabled.
- C. Constitutional Review Committee: Tabled.
- D. Policies and Procedures: Tabled.
- E. Webpage Workgroup: Tabled.

VI. <u>REPORTS</u>:

- A. Senate President: Tabled.
- B. Planning Council Reports: Tabled.
- C. Palomar Faculty Federation: Tabled.
- D. ASG: Tabled.
- E. Guided Pathways: Tabled.
- F. Accreditation: Tabled.
- G. Budget Committee: Tabled.
- H. Senate Committee Reports: Tabled.
- I. Other Reports: Tabled.

VII. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>:

The meeting was adjourned at 3:55 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Erin Hiro, Secretary