

MEETING OF THE FACULTY SENATE

Monday, March 2, 2020 2:30 PM

Location: SU-30

AGENDA

The Faculty Senate reserves the right to modify the order of business as it deems appropriate.

- Senate I. CALL TO ORDER
 - II. PUBLIC COMMENT (not to exceed three minutes)
 - III. ANNOUNCEMENTS
 - IV. AGENDA CHANGES
 - V. APPROVAL OF MINUTES: February 24, 2020

VI. ACTION

- A. Committee Appointments/Elections—Zavodny
 - a. Confirmations
 - b. Elections
- B. Curriculum—Nelson
- C. Meta Majors--Nelson
- D. Constitutional Revision--Thompson

VII. REPORTS (Not to exceed two minutes each)

- A. Senate President Thompson
- B. Planning Council Reports (SEA, SPC, IPC, SSPC, HRPC, FASPC)
- C. Palomar Faculty Federation Laughlin
- D. ASG--Arnold
- E. Guided Pathways—Nelson
- F. Policies and Procedures—Lawson/Martin
- G. Budget Committee--Hiro
- H. Senate Committee Reports
- I. Other Reports

VIII. INFORMATION ITEMS

- A. Wait Lists--Ritt
- B. Senate Goals-Erin Hiro
- C. Program Review—Thompson
- D. Retreat--Thompson

IX. ADJOURNMENT

Academic and Professional Matters: The 10+1+1 – Pursuant to rules adopted by the Board of Governors of the California Community Colleges, the Palomar College Governing Board elects to rely primarily on the advice and judgment of Faculty Senate on academic and professional matters.

1. Curriculum including establishing prerequisites and placing courses within disciplines. 2. Degree and certificate requirements. 3. Grading policies. 4. Educational program development. 5. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success. 6. District and college governance structures, as related to faculty roles. 7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes, including self-stud y and annual reports. 8. Policies for faculty professional development activities. 9. Processes for program m review. 10. Processes for institutional planning and budget development. 11. Faculty hiring policy, faculty hiring criteria, and faculty hiring procedures. 12. Other academic and professional matters as are mutually agreed upon between the governing board and the academic senate.

Faculty Senate

Albistegui-Dubois, Richard Briceño, José C. Carrillo, Melinda Dalrymple, William Doyle Bauer, Alexandra Hiro, Erin Laughlin, Teresa Lawson, Lawrence Martin, Jackie Meehan, Adam Nelson, Wendy O'Brien, Patrick Payn, Lillian Ritt, Travis Robinson, Julia Sinnott, Chris Thompson, Craig Towfiq, Fari Versaci, Rocco Waite, Lori

Zavodny, Anastasia