

# **MEETING OF THE FACULTY SENATE**

Monday, May 20, 2019

2:30 p.m.

Bill Bedford Faculty Senate Room (SU-30)

## AGENDA

The Faculty Senate reserves the right to modify the order of business as it deems appropriate.

- CALL TO ORDER I.
- II. APPROVAL OF MINUTES: May 13, 2019
- III. **Faculty Senate** 
  - IV. **ANNOUNCEMENTS**
  - V. **AGENDA CHANGES**

#### VI. ACTION

B.

- A. Elections for Faculty Senate President, Vice President & Secretary
  - **Committee Appointments/Elections**

PUBLIC COMMENT (not to exceed three minutes)

- Confirmations a.
- b. Elections
- C. Curriculum
- D. SLOAC Co-Coordinator appointments

#### VII. **INFORMATION ITEMS**

- A. Faculty Hiring
- B. Constitutional review committee
- Collegiality in Action recap C.
- Policies and Procedures Fererro/Lovelace D.

VIII.

### **REPORTS (Not to exceed two minutes each)**

- Senate President A.
- Planning Council Reports (SPC, IPC, SSPC, HRPC, FASPC) B.
- C. Palomar Faculty Federation - Laughlin
- D. ASG
- Other reports E.

#### **ADJOURNMENT** IX.

Academic and Professional Matters: The 10+1+1 - Pursuant to rules adopted by the Board of Governors of the California Community Colleges, the Palomar College Governing Board elects to rely primarily on the advice and judgment of Faculty Senate on academic and professional matters.

1. Curriculum including establishing prerequisites and placing courses within disciplines. 2. Degree and certificate requirements. 3. Grading policies. 4. Educational program development. 5. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success. 6. District and college governance structures, as related to faculty roles.7.Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes, including self-stud y and annual reports. 8. Policies for faculty professional development activities. 9. Processes for program m review. 10. Processes for institutional planning and budget development. 11. Faculty hiring policy, faculty hiring criteria, and faculty hiring procedures. 12. Other academic and professional matters as are mutually agreed upon between the governing board and the academic senate.

Carrillo, Melinda Dalrymple, William Doyle-Bauer, Alexandra Fererro, Jenny Hiro, Erin Laughlin, Teresa Lawson. Lawrence Martin, Jackie Nelson, Wendy Pain, Elizabeth Pavn. Lillian Perry, Steve Ritt, Travis Rose, Candace Thompson, Craig Towfig, Fari Waite, Lori Zavodny, Anastasia

Briceño, José C.