

## Minutes of the SPECIAL MEETING OF THE FACULTY SENATE July 7, 2015

**APPROVED** 

PRESENT: April Cunningham, Jenny Fererro, Joel Glassman, Sergio Hernandez, Greg Larson,

Teresa Laughlin, Shannon Lienhart, Lillian Payn, Travis Ritt, Seth San Juan

ABSENT: Richard Albistegui-Dubois, Melinda Carrillo, Barb Kelber, Lawrence Lawson, Jackie

Martin, Pam McDonough, Christina Moore, Chris Sinnott, Fari Towfiq

GUESTS: None

CALL TO ORDER: The meeting was called to order by the President, Greg Larson, at 2:30 p.m. in Room SU-

30.

Please note: All votes are presumed unanimous unless indicated otherwise.

Motion 1 MSC Laughlin, Ritt: Faculty Senate confirmation of the following committee

appointment:

Interim Dean of Math and Natural and Health Sciences Selection Committee

Natarajan Geetha (CHEM)

The motion carried.

Motion 2 MSC Laughlin, Hernandez: Faculty Senate approval of the results of the ballot for the

following committee appointment:

Interim Dean of Math and Natural and Health Sciences Selection Committee

Shannon Lienhart (MATH)

The motion carried.

Motion 3 MSP Laughlin, Lienhart: Faculty Senate approval of the following committee

appointment:

Interim Dean of Math and Natural and Health Sciences Selection Committee

Cindy Torgison (MATH) (Representing another department)

The motion was postponed.

Senators discussed the importance of having better departmental representation from the division on this hiring committee before appointing at-large members. Since only 2 of the 7 departments in the division had volunteers after two calls, more targeted emails will be sent to department chairs highlighting the need for departmental representation.

Departments will be given until July 15 to respond.

Special Meeting of the Faculty Senate, July 7, 2015 Page 2

Motion 4 MSC Hernandez, Laughlin: to postpone voting on Motion 3 until after more time has

been given to solicit committee members for more thorough departmental representation.

The motion carried.

Motion 5 MSC Fererro, Ritt: Faculty Senate approval of the choice of the faculty on the Interim

Dean of Math and Natural and Health Sciences Selection Committee for faculty co-chair.

The motion carried.

ADJOURNMENT: The meeting was adjourned at 3:00pm

Respectfully submitted,

Jenny Fererro, Secretary