FALL






WINTER

SPRING







Palomar College
1140 W. Mission Rd.

San Marcos, CA 92069
(760) 744-1150 Ext. 2460
FAX (760) 761-3512
Athletic Director:
Scott Cathcart

Women's Tennis

Schedule | Roster | Coaching Staff
All-Americans | Recruit FormTransferred to 4-Year Colleges
Archives (Photos and Stats)
2006 Women's Tennis Results

Final State Team Ranking # 6

The 2006 women's tennis team finished the season earning a # 6 team ranking in the state.  Their overall won-loss record was 13-3 (10-2 conference).  The Lady Comets, loss in the state dual team playoffs 5-2 to State Champion, Orange Coast College.

This year's team was led by outstanding freshman's, Mara Nissinoff and Melanie Dutra, both graduates of La Costa Canyon High School.  Mara finished the season with a singles state ranking of # 17.  Melanie finished with a # 30 singles state ranking.  Mara and Melanie combined their talents in doubles as the # 1 doubles team for Palomar and ended the season with a # 6 state ranking in doubles.

In the middle of the line-up at positions 3 and 4, sophomores Jenny Sharpe (Valley Center HS) and Anne Petit (Poway HS) added strength and consistency with excellent match play in singles and doubles.  Jenny and Anne played at # 2 doubles and earned a # 17 doubles state ranking.

At positions 5 and 6, freshman's Beth Sharratt (home school) and Devi Vairavan (San Pasqual HS) anchored the ladder with their consistency and aggressive style of play in both singles and doubles.

2006 Women's Tennis Schedule

Day Date Opponent Location Score
Tue Feb 7 Cypress Home WON 8-1
Thu Feb 9 Irvine Valley Away WON 7-2
Tue Feb 21 Grossmont Home Lost 6-3
Wed Feb 22 Saddleback Away WON 5-4
Thu Feb 23 Bye    
Mon Feb 27 Riverside Away Rain-out
Tue Feb 28 Imperial Valley Away WON 9-0
Thu Mar 2 Cuyamaca Home WON 7-2
Tue Mar 7 San Diego Mesa Home WON 9-0
Thu Mar 9 Southwestern Away WON 9-0
Tue Mar 14 San Diego City Away WON 9-0
Thu Mar 16 Grossmont Away Lost 6-3
Tue Mar 28 Bye    
Thu Mar 30 Imperial Valley Home WON 8-1
Tue Apr 4 Cuyamaca Away WON 7-2
Thu Apr 6 San Diego Mesa Away WON 9-0
Tue Apr 11 Southwestern Home WON 8-1
Thu Apr 13 San Diego City Home WON 8-1
  State Dual Match Orange Coast College Away Lost 5-2
Thu-Sat Apr 20-22 Pacific Coast Tournament Southwestern College, Barnes Tennis  Ctr. All Day
Thu-Sun Apr 27-30 Ojai Invitational Ventura All Day
Thu-Sat May 4-6 Southern Cal Regionals Barnes Tennis Center All Day
Fri-Sat May 12-13 State tournament The Claremont Club All Day

From left to right:
Melanie Dutra,
Legendary Nan Haugen (former women's tennis coach) and
Mara Nissinoff

2006 State Banquet

photo by Ronnie Mancao

 

top

Copyright 2006 Palomar Community College. All rights reserved.
Copyright Policy
Questions about this web site? contact rmancao@palomar.edu